OLA Les Fowlie Intellectual Freedom Award

The Ontario Library Association Board of Directors established the Award for Intellectual Freedom in 1997 to recognize the courage shown by individuals and organizations in defending the rights of library patrons to full access to information. In 2000, the Award was renamed the Les Fowlie Intellectual Freedom Award in memory of the former Chief Librarian of Toronto Public Library whose efforts on behalf of intellectual freedom in Canada are legendary.

Criteria and Eligibility
The successful nominee(s) will possess tangible evidence of courage in defending the rights of library patrons to full access to information. This may include overcoming barriers such as censorship, lack of access to accessible formats, or the absence of library services in a community.

This award is open to individuals and organizations, and is not restricted to OLA members. Nominees may either be an individual person or, a group/project. When nominating a group/project, please provide details for a primary contact in the nomination form.
The nominator must be an OLA member in good standing.

November 30: Nominations Due
November Board meeting: Nominations deliberated and decisions made
Early-Mid December: Nominators/Nominees informed of decisions and picture of winner(s) requested
Early-Mid January: Final award presentation details known and provided to Nominators/Nominees

What to Include
The nominator must provide sufficient documented evidence of the nominee’s contribution.
Please attach your supporting documents in a single, PDF file. If there are questions or concerns about attaching your document, please contact the OLA office at awards@accessola.com.