OLBA W.J. Robertson Medallion: Public Librarian of the Year

Criteria and Eligibility
The nominated candidate for the OLBA W.J. Robertson Medallion must be a professional librarian working in an Ontario library for all or at least part of the calendar year in which they are honoured. Librarians from small, medium and large libraries shall be given equal consideration.

The selection of the nominated candidate will be based on significant contributions in at least one of the following criteria:

Demonstrated innovation in the advancement of the library profession.
Promotion of library services through any means of dissemination of information.
Demonstrated creative uses of technology in the delivery of library and information services.
Creation of original work, regardless of the medium used, that contributes substantially to the improvement of library services.

Librarians currently serving on the OPLA Council are not eligible for this award.
Either an OLBA or OPLA member in good standing may nominate someone for this award.

November 30: Nominations Due
November Council Meeting: Nominations deliberated and decisions made
Early-Mid December: Nominators/Nominees informed of decisions and picture of winner(s) requested
Early-Mid January: Final award presentation details known and provided to Nominators/Nominees

What to Include
The nomination package should include evidence to support the nomination, potentially including but not limited to:

Nominee’s work history and significant positions in the library.
Evidence of nominee’s contributions.
Examples of leadership and innovations, as in special projects, new services, community partnerships, etc.
Letters of support from those who have been impacted by the nominee.
Press clippings or other material demonstrating recognition of nominee’s impact.

Please attach your supporting documents in a single, PDF file. If there are questions or concerns about attaching your document, please contact the OLA office at awards@accessola.com.